Why pregnant people should get the flu shot

I went to a OBGYN to my final appointment, the time previous to this I got inquired about the flu virus vaccine and had been instructed that the shots had not arrived yet. This last time, this particular helpful nurse whom took my weight along with inspected my blood pressure level went to grab the shot for me. Before she left she told me it’s women that are pregnant who get the shot first due to the fact that it is a ‘two for one’ deal (the bundle of joy getting vaccinated along with the mother).

The shot itself had been relatively pain free, I previously had one when employed at a temp job, but during this vaccine there was plenty of lingering discomfort inside my left shoulder near the injection site. It ended up being still sore for five days after. Which leaves me a bad impression of flue shots.

At any rate, when I pointed out to my mother not to embrace me tightly on my shoulders. She gave me the mother look. In case you’ve got a mother or some form of mother figure, well then you will know the face I am talking about. It was obvious that she did not trust that shot.

The CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, the American College of Nurse-Midwives, the American Academy of Pediatrics and many others trust and encourage the flu immunization for expecting mothers.

I talked about this in one of my articles at maternitybelts.com that expectant women get the flu significantly more regularly as opposed to non-pregnant females, and while they’re sick, they are even more sick than they might have been prior to being pregnant.

It stands to reason that if pregnant and you contract the flu, you’re prone to deal with more medical complications than when non-pregnant. Troubles including pneumonia, that is a key problem given that the results and side effects of having pneumonia (for instance dehydration) becomes life-threatening for you plus your child. While getting the flu immunization delivers the fetus protection after they are born. Which is extremely beneficial mainly because just-born children cannot be vaccinated up till they’re six month old.

Sounds like a good reason to obtain the flu shot if you are expecting to me.  I got my flu shot and I’m happy with my decision.

You might want to visit my other post on Why pregnant people shouldn’t get the flu shot (conspiracy theory)

One thought on “Why pregnant people should get the flu shot

  1. Pingback: Why pregnant people shouldn’t get the flu shot (conspiracy theory) | Pregnancy Information

Leave a Reply

